New Jersey Weapons Offenses
New Jersey has some of the toughest gun laws in the nation and if you are facing weapons charges, it is essential that you get an experienced attorney working for you immediately. The attorneys of Cores & Associates include former county and state prosecutors who have years of experience handling weapons offenses and the knowledge to present an effective defense. Contact our office today to schedule your confidential consultation.
New Jersey Weapons Offense Penalties
There are a wide range of weapons offenses in New Jersey, but they all have one thing in common: harsh penalties. Some weapons offenses, including simple possession of a weapon without a permit, fall under the Graves Act, which requires a mandatory prison sentence and a mandatory period where you are not eligible for parole. In most cases, that means you could face up to 5 years in prison and you must serve 3 ½ years before you are eligible for release. However, there are certain cases where these requirements can be waived and the attorneys at Cores & Associates have the experience to know how to get you the relief you need.
In New Jersey, the penalties for weapons offenses will depend on the type of weapon, the record of the offender and the nature of the offense. Possession of a weapon without a permit and possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose are the most common types of weapons offenses. Firearms and explosives offenses are second degree crimes and could lead to up to 10 years in prison. Other weapons, such as BB guns, paintball or airsoft guns, can result in a third-degree charge, with up to 5 years in prison. Even an imitation firearm can lead to a fourth-degree charge and up to 18 months in prison. Many of these charges will be subject to the Graves Act and the mandatory periods of parole ineligibility. Our attorneys are available to discuss the charges with you during the initial consultation. Contact us today to schedule a call with our office.
Also, there are certain persons in the state who are prohibited from possessing, purchasing, or owning any type of firearm. If you have a prior felony conviction, have been found guilty of a domestic violence offense or if you have been diagnosed with a mental illness, you may be subject to this restriction. The penalty for this offense is typically 5 years state prison, with a mandatory 3 ½ year period before you are eligible for parole, which will usually be run consecutively to any other sentence for any other offenses. It is vitally important that you immediately obtain an attorney who is experienced in defending weapons offenses, like the attorneys at Cores & Associates. Contact our office to schedule a consultation.